Homecoming Gala
October 8, 2021 5:30PM - 9:00PM EST
Lancelot Thompson Student Union Auditorium
2801 West Bancroft Street, Toledo, OH 43606
(419) 530.2586

If you would like to register for the Homecoming Gala, please contact the Office of Alumni Engagement at 800.235.6766. Thanks and Happy Homecoming!


The University of Toledo Alumni Association invites you to join us on Friday, Oct. 8 at our annual Homecoming Gala in the Auditorium of the Lancelot Thompson Student Union. This is an opportunity for us to thank and honor our alumni who make an impact every day in communities across the country and around the world.


This year, we will welcome 16 distinguished graduates back to campus. We will present the Gold T, Blue T, Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Young Alum, Special Recognition Gold T and Blue T Awards, as well as awards to our distinguished graduates from each of UToledo's 12 colleges. The graduates of the 1970 and 1971 undefeated Rocket football team will be recognized during the Gala.


Check-in for the Gala begins at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m. From 7:15 - 9 p.m., we will highlight the awardees.


The menu for the gala is a mixed greens salad with grape tomatoes, slivered red onion, croutons, golden raisins, poppyseed vinaigrette and homestyle ranch dressings, and rolls with butter. Mixed grilled chicken Caprese with chimichurri and a filet mignon with wild mushroom demi, caramelized onion smashed Yukon gold potatoes and grilled asparagus bundles. We will finish the meal with New York-style cheesecake with assorted sauces or double chocolate torte with white chocolate sauce. A children's meal of chicken fingers and french fries is available for $14.99. The vegetarian meal is a red quinoa cake with roasted spaghetti squash with smoked marinara sauce.


The Gala is $35 per person and a table of eight is $280. Limited seating is available due to current COVID-19 safety protocol.


Parking is only available in Areas 1N and 1S. Parking Area 10 and Area 13 will be closed on the evening of the Gala. Click here for a map of Main Campus to view the parking areas. 


2020/2021 Homecoming Gala Awardees

Alumni Association Awards
Gold T Award - Dr. Thomas Wakefield '75, '78
Blue T Award - Mark Urrutia '88
Edward H. Schmidt Outstanding Alumni Award - Tom Burden '14
Special Recognition Blue T and Gold T Award - Daniel Saevig '84, 89

College of Arts and Letters Distinguished Alumni Award
Jeff Kuhlman '84


John B. and Lillian E. Neff College of Business and Innovation Distinguished Alumni Award
James Smith '81


College of Engineering Distinguished Alumni Award
Robin Whitney '86


College of Health and Human Services Distinguished Alumni Award
Catina Harding '02, '08


Judith Herb College of Education Distinguished Alumni Award
Dr. Sammy Spann '09


College of Law Distinguished Alumni Award
Olatunji Abayomi '79


College of Medicine and Life Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. Cynthia Tracy '79


College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Distinguished Alumni Award
Dr. Ibraheem Badejo '89


College of Nursing Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. Debi Sampsel '80, '81, '85


College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Distinguished Alumni Award

Tom Kennedy '81


Jesup Scott Honors College James K. Larson Distinguished Achievement Award

Doug Rammel '90


University College Distinguished Alumni Award

Michael Price '86, '88

For assistance, please contact any of the people listed below
Ansley  Abrams-Frederick
Director of Alumni Programming
Shirley  Grzecki
Events Coordinator 1
Last Updated: [Date]